Quito, The Middle of the World, Ecuador ❤️

I’ve been to Ecuador countless of times, yet I had never taken the time to go to Quito. Quito is the capital of Ecuador and the city known as the middle of the world, or where the equator lies.

20140606-091126-33086654.jpg
Hello Quito!

I decided to book a 3-day flight to Quito from Guayaquil. I had no idea what to expect. Thankfully, I had a friend there that I met in January in Spain. Gaby was awesome. She picked me up on Tuesday night with a friend of hers and took me to the historic part of Quito. El Centro Historico as many of the natives know it by. We walked around and took pictures and then continued our night by going to a restaurant called Restaurante Vista Hermosa. This was absolutely breathtaking. It was dinner with a view of the city of Quito. Don’t ask me why, but one of my favorite views no matter where in the world I am…is the view of an entire city. This was the perfect place my friend could take me to.

20140606-091935-33575634.jpg

I usually don’t like to try new things. I like to order something I know will enjoy but recently, I’m all for new things. That’s the beauty of life. There is so much to be offered but we don’t always take advantage of that. I decided to try a typical Ecuadorian dish. I had a plate of mote con chicharron. The chicharron was amazing, too good for words but I wasn’t a big fan of the mote. It didn’t have much flavor if you ask me, but I am glad I tried it. I’m glad I had something different.

Here’s a picture of what my plate looked like:

20140606-091615-33375151.jpg

Day 2

I spent the morning and afternoon with my friends friend, Caro, who I had met the night before. It was her day off and she offered to hangout and show me around. We had such a great time, climbing up and down the Basilica and finding the perfect bar to watch the friendly Ecuador vs. England game. But back to the Basilica, because that was really cool. $1 to go in and explore such a historic site. There were a lot of steps and different levels of the basilica. I was so out of breathe that I realized I clearly need to work out more. Each level along the way up was awesome. On this journey to the top, I was climbing something and I hurt my knee. Thanks basilica, for my swollen black and blue knee. It hurt like hell but it was worth it. ***If you’re ever there, don’t climb things out of excitement and hurt your knee!*** Going to the top was a struggle cause I was out of breathe half the time, no joke. Coming down was even harder for me. I’m not scared of heights but when I look down, I just get that thought of “what if I fall and my life ends…?!” As I was going down the steps, I was holding on for dear life while taking my sweet time to move one foot at a time. I don’t think I took a breath the whole time I was coming down. When I made it down, you can imagine how incredibly happy I was! Here’s a few pictures from the adventures of inside the basilica.

20140606-093512-34512871.jpg

20140606-093605-34565560.jpg

20140606-093605-34565193.jpg

20140606-093604-34564831.jpg

20140606-093605-34565922.jpg

You must really like me and my blogs if you’re still reading this….or you have extra time on your hands….either way, thank you! In preparation for the World Cup, friendly games are always on! Now if you’re crazy about soccer, you wouldn’t miss a friendly game. We made our way to Plaza Foch, which is a part full or bars and restaurants, where a lot of tourists stay when they come visit. We found a lively bar and couldn’t resist going in. This place was the loudest on the block, you could probably hear us screaming in Guayaquil when Ecuador made goals. It was that loud! I loved the atmosphere. As I hoped Ecuador would make me happy and win, I happily took that 2-2 game. GO ECUADOR!

20140606-094703-35223976.jpg

20140606-094703-35223627.jpg

20140606-094703-35223136.jpg

The day continued when I went to a club that night, Bungalow. Many locals go there but it was mostly full of tourists. Since my friends had work the next morning, they couldn’t go with me, but that didn’t stop me from going out. I didn’t want to spend the night in my hotel room so I decided to go anyway. I met some great people that night, we hung out all the way until the next morning. That right there is one of my favorite things about traveling…the people you meet, the friends you make and the stories you share.

20140606-095516-35716902.jpg

20140606-095517-35717263.jpg

Day 3

Not hungover but so tired from staying up all night. I took maybe a 2 hour nap and then headed to the reason that brought me to Quito….THE MIDDLE OF THE WORLD! The equator line! This has been on my bucket list for as long as I can remember and finally at 21 years old, I MADE IT. It’s one thing to see it in a picture on a computer screen, completely different when you see it in person. I don’t know about you, but it always feels unreal to me, like I’m not really standing there at that moment. Maybe it’s all a dream? That’s the feeling I get every single time. I’m so incredibly glad I made the trip out to see La Mitad del Mundo. It was about damn time!

20140606-102621-37581241.jpg

20140606-102621-37581648.jpg

 

I finished off a wonderful trip by trying Lebanese food for the first time. Weird huh? Trying Lebanese food in Ecuador? I should be trying more Ecuadorian food but yeah…Leabense food. It was a tasting of a ton of different little things. I’m a really picky eater so this was also hard for me.

Needless to say, this was all a very a successful 3 day trip if you ask me. I did enjoy Quito, the whole 70 something hours I was there. I do wish to return again, but that’s with almost every city or country I go to. Thanks for the memories Quito, I shall be back. And if you haven’t been to Quito yet, you should add that to your list of places to visit. 😉

20140606-160037-57637190.jpg

Leave a Reply

