futebol é paixão; soccer is passion.

It’s something that I feel in my blood. It didn’t matter that it wasn’t my team playing. Just seeing the excitement and the happiness of other people experiencing their country score was enough for me. I still got the chills up and down my body as people screamed and jumped all around me. The noises from the vuvuzelas never sounded better.

Seeing the crowd start to scream and get hyped up as the ball went near the goalie. Hearing them quiet down when a player missed the goal…and then all of a sudden, seconds later, out of nowhere, a loud unstoppable cheering when the ball went into the net. BRAZIL SCORES & THE CROWD GOES WILD!

Here I am in Cabo Frio, a small beach town in Brazil where everyone has come together to enjoy this event. There’s a big screen TV, food, alcohol, street vendors and Brazilian flags all over. Every single person in sight was proudly wearing their jersey or their yellow and green colors.

The score is 1-1 and it’s a do or die game…it’s time for penalty kicks. In a few minutes, Chile or Brazil is going to lose and an entire country will be devastated with the results. I can feel the energy all around me. It’s intense. Everyone’s eyes are on that screen awaiting the kick and hoping the ball goes in. Kick after kick, minutes later, this game has a winner. Brazil wins, advances to the next round of the World Cup and sends Chile home. There is beer thrown in the air, people jumping up and down, waving their shirts around, dancing and screaming at the top of their lungs because their country has won!

Here I sit recording their joy, while I take this beautiful and unforgettable moment in and remember the reason why I love this sport so much and why I love the World Cup. Every 4 years, every long 4 years, the entire world comes together to enjoy one passion.

You could be the in the host country, in your living room or at the local bar…but you can feel the emotions and the passion for the sport wherever you may be…because that’s what soccer does to you.


Chile vs. Brazil – June 28th, 2014 – Cabo Frio, Brazil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

